The Front Page
In Teragrep data is controlled using files referred to as notebooks. They are used for data ingestion, analytics and visualization.
The front page of Teragrep contains the list of all the notebooks available to you as well as the options for importing or creating a new notebook.
User accounts are created by the administrator of your Teragrep installation. Log in from the front page using the credentials provided by your administrator.
Use the Create New Note button to create a new notebook and give it a name.
Folders are also created using the name field. You can create a folder for the new notebook by using slashes, for example:
/Folder/File. If a folder by that name already exists, the notebook will be assigned there instead of a new folder being created.
You can choose the default interpreter for this notebook from the drop-down menu.
Use the Import Note button to import an existing notebook. Teragrep supports importing JSON files, including the .ipynb (Jupyter) file format.
You can either upload a file from your device or add it from a URL.
By default the name of the imported notebook is the same as the original file, but you can rename it if you want. Folder management works identically to when creating a new notebook.
At the bottom of Teragrep’s main page is the list of all the notebooks and folders available to you. You can use the filter bar to quickly find the one you want by name.
Clicking a notebook opens the notebook, while clicking a folder either expands or collapses the folder. Moving notebooks between folders is done by renaming them and changing the name of their folder in the name field.
On the right edge of a notebook or a folder are the following controls:
The pencil icon allows you to rename a notebook or a folder. If you give two folders the same name, they will be merged together.
Clear Output (notebook only)
The eraser icon clears all the paragraph outputs of the notebook (see Paragraphs).
Create New Notebook (folder only)
The plus icon creates a new notebook directly into this folder.
Move to Trash
The trash can icon moves a notebook or a folder into the Trash folder. This can only be done by an Owner of the notebook (see Notebook Permissions).
When moving notebooks into the Trash folder, the Trash folder automatically creates new folders with names identical to the folders those notebooks were previously located in. This makes it easier to search through the Trash folder.
In the Trash folder you can only see the notebooks which you are an Owner of (and therefore have the permission to move to the Trash folder and delete permanently). In the Trash folder notebooks and folders have two controls:
The counterclockwise arrow icon moves the notebook or folder back into the main list.
The X icon permanently deletes the notebook or folder. This can not be undone.
The Trash folder also has top-level controls that do the same actions for all the items in the Trash folder. Likewise, deleting all notebooks and folders from the Trash folder is a permanent action and can not be undone.