The Notebook Controls

On the top of the Notebook View are controls that affect your whole notebook.

On the top left is the name of your notebook. If you’re an Owner of the notebook (see Notebook Permissions.), you can rename the notebook here.

Rename notebook

The Editing Controls

Next to the name of the notebook are the controls related to working with the notebook.

first button group
  • Run Notebook

    The play icon runs all the paragraphs in the notebook. You can also abort the process while the notebook is running.

  • Show / Hide Input

    The expand icon hides or shows the input sections in all the paragraphs.

  • Show / Hide Output

    The book icon hides or shows the output sections in all the paragraphs.

  • Clear Output

    The eraser icon clears all the outputs from all the paragraphs.

  • Clone Notebook

    The copy icon allows you to create a new clone of the notebook. You can give the new notebook a name and assign it to a folder (see Create a New Notebook).

  • Export as a Zeppelin Notebook

    Download the notebook as a .zpln file.

  • Export as a Jupyter Notebook

    Download the notebook as a .ipynb file.

  • Turn off Shared Mode

    The people icon allows an Owner of the notebook to toggle off the notebook’s Shared Mode and use it in Personal Mode.

In Personal Mode, only the Owners of the notebook can use the note; in Shared Mode, all users with applicable permissions are able to use it. (See Notebook Permissions.) When other people are currently viewing or editing the notebook, an additional viewing indicator appears.

Version Control

Next to the editing controls are the controls for version control. The main revision of the notebook is referred to as Head.

second button group
  • Make Commit

    Commit the version of the notebook you are currently viewing as a new revision. You can give the revision a name for later identification. You should always make a commit before doing anything permanent, such as removing a paragraph or changing the Head revision.

    make a commit
  • Set This Revision as Head

    Make the version of the notebook you are currently viewing the new Head revision. The previous Head revision will be replaced and cannot be restored, unless it’s been previously saved as a separate commit.

  • Compare Revisions

    This slides down the Compare Revisions tool. Use the drop-down menus to pick two different revisions of the notebook. Their paragraphs will show up in the left window with a note about which ones have differences. Click a paragraph to compare these differences in the right window; additions are highlighted in green and omissions in red.

    compare revisions
  • Version Picker and Indicator

    This tells you which version of the notebook you are currently viewing. Use the drop-down menu to switch between different versions of the notebook.

    version picker

Find & Replace

The magnifying glass icon opens the Find & Replace pop-up. You can use it to find a string of text or code from any part of your notebook, and it will show up highlighted. If there are multiple occasions of the same string, you can cycle through them using the arrows.

You can replace the found string with a new one by writing a replacement in the Replace field. The Replace button replaces only the currently highlighted string, while the All button replaces all the instances of it in the notebook.

Find and replace

Move to Trash

The trashcan icon moves the notebook into Trash folder (see section List of Notebooks). This can only be done by an Owner of the notebook (see Notebook Permissions).

move to trash

Scheduler

The clock icon opens the Scheduler pop-up. Here you can schedule the notebook to run automatically at set intervals.

You can either choose from a list of presets or write a Cron expression yourself. The presets are 1 minute, 5 minutes, 1 hour, 3 hours, 6 hours, 12 hours, and 1 day.

Once the scheduling has been set, the notebook will run automatically at set intervals until the scheduling is removed.

scheduler

The Keyboard Shortcut Cheat Sheet

The keyboard icon on the right edge of the screen opens the Keyboard Shortcuts pop-up. This cheat sheet contains a list of all the keyboard shortcuts available in Teragrep.

keyboard shortcuts

Interpreter Binding Settings

The cog icon opens the Interpreter Binding Settings for this notebook.

Here you can bind and unbind the interpreters that have been associated with this notebook by clicking them. The first bound interpreter on the list becomes the default one.

You can click the reload icons next to each interpreter to refresh their connection. This is useful for troubleshooting, especially after the notebook has been edited by others.

Restart interpreter

Notebook Permissions

The lock icon opens the Notebook Permissions for this notebook. Only the Owners of the notebook can make changes to these permissions.

Here you can give the users of your Teragrep installation permissions concerning this notebook. The roles are:

  • Owner

    Owners can change permissions, view, run and edit the notebook. They can also rename the notebook and move it to the Trash folder.

  • Writer

    Writers can view, run and edit the notebook.

  • Runner

    Runners can view the notebook and run it, but not edit it.

  • Reader

    Readers can only view the notebook.

permissions settings

View Modes

The View Mode drop-down menu allows you to change between different UI modes: Default, Simple and Report.

  • Default

    In Default mode all the notebook and paragraph controls are shown normally.

    Default mode
  • Simple

    In Simple mode all the notebook and paragraph controls are hidden by default. They show up when hovering your cursor over them. This is useful for distraction-free editing and reviewing.

    Simple mode
  • Report

    In Report mode all the notebook and paragraph controls are completely hidden. This is useful for presenting the notebook for others, or for when you want to print it out.

    Report mode